tchost.blogg.se

Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen
Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen





wont let me type in mac os utilities screen
  1. Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen install#
  2. Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen upgrade#
  3. Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen full#
  4. Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen password#

Try running "file /bin/tcsh", which should tell you "/bin/tcsh: Mach-O executable ppc".

wont let me type in mac os utilities screen

If you can get to a prompt somehow, and you have some kind of /bin/tcsh file present, you need to analyze it a bit. Similarly, you might be able to get in via "single user mode" - boot while holding down shift-S (I think, haven't had a reason to use it yet but I think that's right), and this should dump you in as root & hopefully running under /bin/sh. If you're lucky this will try to log you in with whatever shell is available, if you can't set your preferred shell to one of whichever ones remain for you. One method of low level desperation would be to login as ">console" at the login screen. Are you seeing the same timestamp for each file (assuming you can get that far), or if not is tcsh newer perchance? If so, that might point to the date where things went wrong, and that in turn might help you piece together how the shell got hosed. All of them have the same time stamp, corresponding to the day I installed the OS. You're definitely getting the same error that people were talking about a year ago? The file /bin/tcsh has a zero file length? On my system, the /bin directory has four *sh files: csh, sh, tcsh, zsh. Darn it, I just got Fink and Gnome 1.4, PhP/MySql/Apache, and VPC all working optimally, and now I've got to erase the system do it all over again! I've started manually backing up everything and it looks like I'm going to have to reformat and reinstall, but if there's a way to repair this without major disruption, I'd sure like to hear it. So if any of these symptoms sound familiar, let me know. So I logged out, relogged in and then it started giving the Process Completed message. I noted that when this bug appeared, at first when I launched Terminal, I got the welcome message, then I never got a prompt, it just hung while the CPU monitor went up to 100%.

wont let me type in mac os utilities screen

Could just be a permission problems, now I've got to find a way to do chmod and chown from a GUI app. I tried copying another copy of /bin/tcsh from a working system on another machine (as root of course) and now I don't get the "Process Completed" message, I get "" so it appears something is deeply hosed. I tried the trick of running a command from the menu in Terminal.app, but that doesn't work for me, it did nothing, didn't run the command, just echoed it.

wont let me type in mac os utilities screen

And the darn thing is, I've seen this bug before, and somehow I fixed it, but I can't remember how.

Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen install#

Post navigation ← Reasons to both install and avoid OS X 10.I've just encountered this bug again, on my Powerbook G3/500 running 10.1.1. This entry was posted in Troubleshooting and tagged 10.11, El Capitan, OS X, OS X 10.11 on Octoby Topher Kessler. When done, attempt the above procedures to try again.

Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen full#

If the procedure still fails with an error, then hopefully you have a full system backup ready, which you can restore to your Mac using the option to restore from a Time Machine backup in the OS X Recovery partition, or whatever cloning software you use.

Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen upgrade#

The Terminal may take a while to complete this step, but when done you can reboot your Mac and hold the Option key to show the boot menu, and then select the El Capitan installation drive you just created to run the installer and upgrade your Mac’s internal hard drive. You will also need to have first downloaded the OS X El Capitan installer from the App Store, and have this present in your Applications folder. Note that if you get any errors, be sure your USB drive is formatted and named “INSTALLER” so the command will properly target it.

Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen password#

Press Enter to run the pasted command, and supply your password when prompted (it will not show when typed). N.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallme\ĭia -volume /Volumes/INSTALLER -applic\Ītionpath /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ El\ Ca\ Sudo /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ El\ Capita\ Open the OS X Terminal and run the following command (copy and paste all 5 lines):.Use Disk Utility to format it to HFS+ with a GUID partition scheme, naming it INSTALLER.For this, you will need a spare external drive (USB drive, or hard drive) that is at least 8GB in size, and then perform the following steps: If this program is missing or will not run, then move it to the trash and empty the trash, followed by re-downloading it from the App Store.Īn alternative approach is to create a dedicated installation drive from the El Capitan installer, and use that to install the upgrade.







Wont let me type in mac os utilities screen